News Flash

City of Fort Myers - News

Posted on: February 4, 2021

Mayor Anderson announces task force members

Task forces image housing, unity and homelessness

FORT MYERS, Fla. (Feb. 4, 2021) – Today City of Fort Myers Mayor Kevin Anderson announced members of three separate task forces. The groups will address concerns raised by citizens on the topics of homelessness, access to housing, and unity. 

Mayor Anderson will convene each task force in the coming weeks. “There are pressing issues facing our city, and I look to this group of citizen advisors to provide insight on challenges and workable solutions in our community,” said Anderson. 

The council liaisons will periodically report to Mayor Anderson on discussion topics and proposed recommendations. For more information, please contact Kim Harris, Legislative Administrator, at 239-321-7020 or via email at  


Mayor’s Task Force on Homelessness

Leader: Janet Bartos, Lee County Homeless Coalition Executive Director

City Council liaison: Johnny Streets, Ward 2 Councilmember

Community members: Nicole Dillion, Jacques Thomas and Bo Whitesman

Mayor’s Task Force on Housing

Leader: Justin Thibaut, COO, LSI Companies, Inc.

City Council liaison: Teresa Watkins Brown, Ward 1 Councilmember

Community members: Dr. Eric Appelgren, Gary Griffin, LaKasha Levatt, Larry Schoof, Tyler Sharpe, P.E., Jason Teeters

Mayor’s Task Force on Unity

Leader: Dr. Phil Phillips, Senior Pastor, Agape Christian Fellowship

City Council liaison: Darla Bonk, Ward 6 Councilmember

Community members: Marc Collins, Stacy Crespo, Dwayne Jackson and Chantel Rhodes